Interview with Mr. Snowberger

How long have you worked at? Why did you come to GPA?

I’ve worked at JJU since 2010 and at GPA since 2013. I came to JJU for a better job after getting married. I’d worked at a hagwon previously for 3 years. I came to GPA to teach non-ESL classes. My major (and passion) are computers and I wanted to teach “real” classes with “content” that I felt mattered. (I don’t really enjoy teaching ESL.)

What are your goals for this semester?

My goals are to introduce students to robotics electronics and software programming as well as teach the basics of brand building in our Graphic Design class.

What is the best part of working at GPA?

There are two “best parts”: 1) Teaching “real” content that is related to my major, passion, hobbies, and interests (as opposed to ESL like I teach at Jeonju University, which I’m not really interested in), and 2) The students – all of whom are very smart, interesting, and creative.

Do you speak Korean? Or another language?

I currently speak intermediate conversational Korean. I’ve also studied Chinese for 3 years in university, so I can still recognize many Hanja characters that are used in Korean (and it helps me understand vocabulary much better as about 70% of Korean is from Chinese). I also studied German for 3 years in high school and Japanese for 3 months in Japan. I’m no longer conversational in any of these other languages, but I can recognize some words and phrases, and can read and pronounce them all pretty well.

What are your hobbies?

My hobbies are: cycling everywhere in every weather, bodyweight exercise every morning, programming in PHP and WordPress, freelance graphic design, and studying Korean by reading novels in Korean. I’m currently reading through Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in Korean, and will start The Hunger Games trilogy next.

Whatโ€™s your favorite place?

My favorite place is Jeonju, right? That’s why I’m still here after 10 years. And I really have no strong desire to leave for at least another 10 years even if I change jobs or houses.

What other countries have you lived in or traveled to?

I’ve been to Mexico once for a week; China twice – once for a month-long study abroad, and once to teach English for a month; Japan three or four times for a total of 4 months or so; Hong Kong twice – once as a single man, and once on my honeymoon; and Korea for the past 10 years.

Are you married? ๐Ÿ˜‰

See question #7.